52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

46. It’s Moving (Just Not Fast Enough!)

14 Comments

So, these days I pretty much have my camera with me all the time AND a list of the few themes I have left!

Today while driving to the store I spotted this turtle trying to cross the road. My first thought was, “oh no, that turtle is going to get squashed!” My second thought was, “will that fit a theme?” The only thing I was certain of was that a dead turtle wasn’t going to make a good photo and I’m pretty sure there isn’t a death theme. That would just be gross! I hit the hazard flashers, grabbed my camera, took a photo out the window, looked for cars and got out. I asked the turtle to smile. No luck. Took his photo anyhow. Then all of a sudden I realized what I had just committed to. I was going to have to pick up this turtle and carry it to the grass. That was a good idea from inside the car. Have you ever picked up a turtle that didn’t want to be picked up?! And who knew their legs are THAT long. Ack! And they smell like pond water! The first 2 attempted resulted in me squealing and quickly (yes, gently) putting the turtle back down. That is the photo I wish I had! I was standing in the road giggling out loud hoping nobody was watching me. I took a deep breath and just got it over with. I told the turtle I just saved it’s life and again asked it to smile for my camera. Still no luck. I left with the turtle facing the direction from which it had come and wishing I carried wet wipes in my camera case! I am using the theme, “It’s Moving.” Although a more appropriate theme would have been, “It Should Be Moving Faster.”

Image

ImageImage

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

14 thoughts on “46. It’s Moving (Just Not Fast Enough!)

  1. I can’t believe you picked him up! I would have died laughing to see you doing this! You did your good deed for the day! =)

  2. I totally laughed out loud! I pictured this whole thing going down in my mind. 🙂 I also tossed up a thank you prayer for not being in the car with you because I know it would have been me out there. This was your “Grapes of Wrath” moment.

  3. I can be VERY convincing…. >:)

  4. This was indeed a photo taken out of desperation. Sure wish I had been driving by to document this random act of kindness.

  5. The last picture looks like you oiled him/her up in order to move faster. I have saved turtles as well on several occasions and those guys can get nasty with their long legs trying to scratch you. However, when they sense water they can move extremely fast. Sorry he didn’t give you a smile, but he/she does look appreciative.

  6. What? No turtle soup that night?

  7. I wish I could have seen your face when you picked Mr. (Or Ms.) Turtle up.

Leave a Reply

