52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

14. Here’s Your Sign

7 Comments

I will probably be sorry that I used this theme so early in the year. I am always looking for unusual signs. This “No Smoking/No Puffin” sign caught my eye in the store and restaurant windows in Alaska. 

Puffins are seabirds that feed primarily by diving in the water. They breed in large colonies on cliffs or offshore islands, nesting in crevices among the rocks or in burrows in the soil. 

We were very fortunate during out recent trip to Alaska to have unseasonably good weather. We were able to visit St. Lazaria Island a 65 acre island created when lava pushed up through the sea floor-much the same process that created the Hawaiian islands. The sheer cliffs are a perfect habitat for seabirds: up to half a million storm petrels, murres, auklets, and puffins nest on the island. 

Image

Image

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

7 thoughts on “14. Here’s Your Sign

  1. I like this choice….but now that I think about it, didn’t you post a sign last year that was in dog? LOL

  2. Brought a big smile to me on a rainy afternoon. Funny Puffin face!

  3. I think it’s a good choice too. We have puffins breeding in Scotland in June/July time – I like them a lot.

  4. I love no puffin’! I’ll have to check that out next time we go. Ah yes, there is possibly a next time next year with Dave’s daughter and her husband. This time we’ll do the inside passage, but still in the Neptune Suites! How can we travel any other way now, eh? 😉

  5. I love your quirky sign – and the beautiful photo attached! Thanks for the travel break!

Leave a Reply

