52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

51. Way Down Low

10 Comments

Finding a photo for this theme might be the easiest choice I have ever had to make for my photo blog. Two weeks ago my husband and I took a dream cruise to Alaska. One of the highlights of the trip was taking a helicopter ride over several glaciers and then landing twice on Bucher Glacier, near Juneau Alaska.

Our pilot Nate, was very excited about the beautiful weather we had that day. He took us to places that he hadn’t been able to get near in some time because of clouds and rain. I sent him photos a few days after and he replied telling me that he hasn’t been back to our magical locations since that day.

It’s nearly impossible to capture in a photo how beautiful the glaciers are from the air. Nate did a great job answering all of our questions. The dark trails in the glacier are sediment ridges or medial moraines, from the constant movement of the glacier and the grinding away of the mountains. Our second stop was near a deep moulin that really did go way down low. Some of them can go as far as a thousand feet down to the bottom of the glacier. Nate was much braver than I was to try and take a peek.

IMG_9658

IMG_9683

IMG_9698

IMG_9703IMG_9722

And finally… this is a photo I had been planning long before the trip! No I am not really sliding way down low off the glacier but in fact just laying on my stomach. I asked Nate to tilt the camera just a little to make it LOOK like I am sliding away. Apparently he thought it was funny too because I took a photo of him doing the same thing to email to him!

IMG_9678

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

10 thoughts on “51. Way Down Low

  1. Great photos! Looks like an amazing trip!

  2. Ahh, I loved my trip to Alaska, and can see you did yours as well. I did not do the helicopter ride but a float plane back to Taku Lodge – where the glacier is where they get the ice for refrigeration and you can walk right up to it, and the lake is the same wonderful blue – but with King Salmon in it and great bears. Alaska is a wonderful place to visit. You got some good photos and glad you had a fine time.

    • Alaska is a photographers dream that’s for sure. I’d love to go back with a group of photographers. Most of my shots felt hurried. I would have LOVED to have been able to do HDR photography on the glaciers.

  3. How beautiful Mindy! I truly lived vicariously through your photos. The blue of the moulin took my breath away – I can only imagine how breathtaking it was in person.

  4. Super pictures and very creative sliding down the hill.

  5. A spectacular place to visit and a spectacular place to live. I am so happy you were blessed with such fabulous weather so you could enjoy the breathtaking beauty that is Alaska, Mindy. I LOVED living there. 🙂

  6. So glad you got to go to Alaska. It is a place no one can tell you about. You must experience it yourself. I loved my trip as well. I love your writings and thoroughly enjoy reading them.

  7. Hmm..some of these pictures look oddly familiar!! Love them and we DID have a blast, didn’t we!

Leave a Reply

