52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

A4 My Hometown

8 Comments

Last week I went to visit my hometown, Auburn IN., for a week. My daughter recently had a new baby girl! I went to help with her other 2 children while she recovered from the delivery.

Auburn is in the Northeast corner of Indiana. About 20 miles north of Fort Wayne right along interstate 69. It is home to the Auburn, Cord Duesenberg Museum, the annual ACD Festival and the site of many collector cars auctions. The biggest of the auctions are held during Labor Day Weekend.  In my previous life time before moving to Florida I used to work for some of the companies, Kruse International, RM Auctions, Auctions America and Vintage Gavel. Probably because I grew up seeing so many collector cars and working for the auction companies I was never impressed seeing the old cars driving around the city streets. It wasn’t uncommon. Because I have lived away for so many years I did notice the cars last week. It made me smile to think about all the school field trips to the museum with my daughters school groups, sitting along the streets with the kids to watch the cars parade through the city streets and walking around the courthouse square to look at the cars on Friday nights during the festival. Once I started working for the auction companies it sometimes became a family affair. My daughters used to help out during some of the sales and sometimes even traveled with me to the smaller sales. Some of the regular customers would look forward to seeing the girls and would ask about them for years to come. I suppose like a lot of things that you do when your kids are little you don’t really appreciate them when they are happening. But it was nice to reminisce last week while driving around town to run errands for my daughter. It was a nice reminder to me to enjoy my hectic visit with my grand kids. I know in the blink of an eye they will be all grown up. I will be fondly looking back at this visit and not remembering what at times felt like chaos…. I will be remembering the bubble baths, reading them books and the kisses good night when I tucked them into bed.

IMG_1688

IMG_1704

IMG_1198IMG_1158 copyIMG_1292bw copy

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

8 thoughts on “A4 My Hometown

  1. Lovely to read about your “hometown” visit. Hey those hanging baskets are almost as good as the ones in England!!

  2. Congrats on the new baby… she’s adorable!

  3. Love the picture of the 3 grandchildren! Congrats!!!

  4. I loved seeing your hometown through your eyes. And the picture of your 3 grandchildren made me smile!

  5. Ah memory lane! Glad you enjoyed it! i loved the picture of your grandchildren on the couch. So cute!!!

  6. Nice memories of your hometown.
    And congratulations on the new grandbaby!

Leave a Reply

