52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

8. Distortion

12 Comments

I spent this past weekend kicking around Chattanooga, TN with my friend and fellow blogger Mary Nell. We both had some really fun and creative ideas that we collected photos for.  I have been wanting to try this fun technic I learned about recently at a photoshop workshop. It’s called Polar Planets. To start you need a nice panoramic photo that you can match up really nice on the ends. I thought this barn photo would be a good candidate. It’s only my second attempt so it isn’t perfect.

littlefarm

 

I thought you might like to see the original image as well. You can see just how much distortion I added!

IMG_3940_1_2_tonemapped

 

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

12 thoughts on “8. Distortion

  1. Mindy, I think that’s a fun exercise. You’ll have to share your tutorial with us.

  2. This is very cool, but a bit intimidating….I am still trying to figure out what the histogram means on my camera display and you are turning farms into little planets!

  3. I did some things with the polar coordinates in the past, but this one is super good!

  4. Please share…..but in baby talk a point and shooter.

  5. Would love to know your technique to get this result!

  6. This will be a little lengthy but I will share how I made my little planet!

    Reveal Seam: It’s best to start with an image that has a level horizon line. In the end the edges will touch so any differences in elevation will become obvious. To reveal any problems you are going to have choose FILTER>OTHER>OFFSET and adjust the horizontal setting until a seam appears near the center of the image.

    Retouch Seam: After you see how the edges line up use the spot healing tool to create a smooth transition.

    Make the document square: To make a perfectly circular end result, you will have to make the document perfectly square. Start by double clicking on the name of the layer and convert it into a normal layer by changing the name to something other than background. (I suggest Mindy Rocks) lol Choose IMAGE>CANVAS SIZE, copy the width or height setting , whichever is a larger number, and paste it into the other field so the width and height are equal to what used to be the longest dimension of the image. At the bottom of the dialog box, click on the bottom center square out of the grid so that the extra space is added to the top of the image and then click ok.

    Fill empty space: At this point, we have to figure out what to put in the empty part of the image that was created by making the image square. You have 2 choices.:
    1. Expand the sky
    2. Stretch the image
    To expand the sky area, type command J (mac) Ctrl J (win) to copy the area to its own layer, then choose EDIT>CONTENT AWARE SCALE and drag the top handle until it touches the top of the document.
    To stretch the image instead. just choose EDIT>FREE TRANSFORM and drag the top edge of the image until it touches the top edge of the document.
    I suggest you give both a try because they produce very different results.

    Flip Vertically: Whatever appears at the top of the document will end up in the center of the final image. Choose LAYER>FLATTEN IMAGE and then IMAGE>IMAGE ROTATION>180 degrees. If you skip that step, you’ll end up with a planet that wraps around the outer edge of your image with the sky in the center.

    Apply Polar Coordinates: Now you are ready to choose FILTER>DISTORT>POLAR COORDINATES and use the rectangle to polar settings.

    Good Luck!

  7. Creative way of looking at the world – good job

Leave a Reply

