52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

27. Musical

45 Comments

When I am out taking photos I usually try and snap a few photos of textures from the area. Later I sometimes add a texture overlay to enhance the photo or even use it as an accent border. Over time I have collected hundreds of texture photos.

Most of the time I use Adobe Photoshop CS6 for my photo editing. I also use Adobe Creative Cloud and I am trying to warm up to Lightroom. Because I love to experiment with textures I was very curious about a new feature in Photoshop CC called Adobe Exchange. Β There you can download actions, templates and other items. These items are created by Adobe and by members of the community. Most are free of charge. However, you may find tryout versions listed by individual developers.

Because I love to experiment with textures I downloaded Adobe Texture Paper Pro by Russell Brown. I used a photo of a man playing the guitar on the street in downtown Sarasota. I put a couple bucks in his guitar case and asked his permission to take his photo. He was very cooperative and even instructed the 2 other men playing in his street band to stop singing and just hum. It made me chuckle a little but was very helpful. It’s hard to get a nice photo of someone when their lips are moving! Anyhow, sorry, I digress. Β I used the textures by Russell Brown to edit the photo. I dropped a texture behind him and 3 or 4 over the top. I used the erase tool to soften the textures over his face. I also used the dodge and burn tool so that I could try and place the emphasis on his eyes. I wanted his gaze to be the focus of the photo.

music man on main

 

 

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

45 thoughts on “27. Musical

  1. Gorgeouser (my made up word) than ever ! Your not getting older you are bolder and better. You are a joy to follow.

  2. very nice – and thanks for the how-too.

  3. Love the ruggedness of his features and the softness of his hands and guitar. Might have to play with that Adobe app.

  4. Very nice. I am amazed at how a photo can be changed with all the different programs available. πŸ™‚

  5. this is so cool, it would be a perfect album cover, does anyone remember albums?

  6. What a fantastic portrait. Thank you for sharing how you did it. Its is way beyond me at the moment but it is good to have ideas for the future. I shall have to have a go at textures soon.

  7. I am blown away! This is one of my favorite photos you have taken, Mindy, and I’ve seen hundreds and hundreds of yours. A-M-A-Zing! πŸ™‚

  8. Sarasota? I thought that was Merle Haggard :). I guess I’m gonna have to break down and learn photoshop. Thanks for the awesome portrait and mini-tutorial.

  9. Wow – I can hardly take my eyes off of your photo! I’m going to come back to it many times!

  10. I can’t get enough of textures. I keep looking at what you did on this one, and I love it. Good job!

  11. Really impressive. I don’t know yet much of anything you are talking about but this guy looks great and his eyes do pop!

  12. Wow is what I thought too when I saw this photograph. It’s terrific.

  13. Ahhhhh some of us can only aspire to stuff like this! So effective!

  14. I love the whole feel of this photo Mindy!

  15. Wow, this is really a cool effect!!!!

  16. Wow I love this effect – this is whole new world of photo editing for me to learn. I think my photoshop skills need to improve to get to this level.

  17. Beautiful! You’re such a pro!

  18. Nice work!

  19. Wow, that’s a great shot! Awesome perspective.

  20. What a great one!!! I really like the textures you used!! They fit so perfectly. The dodge?burn you used is perfect also. I was once told that if you close your eyes and open them to look at a picture you will be more conscious of where/what you’re drawn to. For me it was right to the eyes just like you intended. Great work!

  21. Mindy, When do the lessons begin? Great image and excellent post processing. Gary

  22. Can’t help but think we will see this photo with a blue ribbon on it someday soon!

  23. I absolutely Love this one Mindy. The humanity coming through his soulful eyes is beautifully captured!

  24. I absolutely Love this one Mindy. The gentle humanity coming through his soulful eyes is beautifully captured!

Leave a Reply

