52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

4. Bright Idea

24 Comments

A few weeks ago I received an email from a community volunteer coordinator. He was asking for people interested in being team ambassadors for the 2014 IBCPC Dragon Boat Festival being held at Nathan Benderson Park. I wasn’t sure exactly what the job would entail so I had the bright idea of asking if being an ambassador could be a team event! I thought it sounded like a great project for my book club. We call ourselves the DEARS. That stands for Drink, Eat and Read Sometimes. Heavy on the sometimes…. Secretly I have to admit that I thought if we did this event it would be another excuse to not read. πŸ™‚

The women who participated in the dragon boat races were all breast cancer survivors and traveled to Sarasota from all over the world. Teams came from as far away as Australia, Italy and Singapore. Our teams were both from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. Β As team ambassadors it was our responsibility to answer questions before our teams arrived and then help them navigate the event and answer questions once they arrived.

In DEARS fashion we wanted to do just a little more to make our team feel welcome. We made signs and greeted our teams at the Tampa airport, we attended the opening ceremonies, the parade of nations, cheered for our teams as they raced, the closing ceremonies and a group send off as they left for the airport.

It was one of the most fun things we have done as a group…. and one of my best bright ideas!

IMG_4213
IMG_1485IMG_1552
IMG_1756Β 1459743_10152362723451879_2158460399894195547_n

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

24 thoughts on “4. Bright Idea

  1. One of the breast things I have ever done….thank you again for all your work to make this happen for we D.E.A.R.S. and to have it to remember with such beautiful photos.

  2. Good job and a great post for the theme

  3. Mindy, this is an amazing story. Bless you for accepting and making this such a nice event for some special ladies. We will have to keep our eyes open for this next year!

  4. Fantastic photos, Mindy……and a “bright idea” indeed!! Special subject to me as my wife is a breast cancer survivor!! She has done the 3-day “Walk for the Cure” and our oldest daughter just did the same (this is her 3rd time!) in Atlanta two weeks ago!! Great cause, great ladies….the most courageous I’ve ever known!!

  5. Nice story and glad you were able to share it with your friends as you made new ones.

  6. Your idea was not only “bright”, but a “great” idea as well. I have met many women that have fought and won or lost their courageous battle of such a terrible disease. I am sure the women truly appreciated your welcoming. The D.E.A.R.S. sounds like a great club to belong to. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Deedie. I have known some very brave women as well who have battled breast cancer. It’s wonderful how far the treatment process has come. But we have a long way to go…..

  7. Nice shots and a wonderful way to get involved with a great event! All that pink just makes me happy and so hopeful for all the women and men who have been affected by breast cancer. 😊

  8. I love that you went above and beyond – truly a great idea! Thank you for sharing the experience with us – and enhancing the experience for the survivors.

  9. To see the sea of pink in some of your photos touched my heart. I am sure the ladies were overwhelmed with the kindness and attention given to them by D.E.A.R.S. Although I was not involved, I do thank you girls for your tireless efforts in making the ladies feel welcome, understood and appreciated.

  10. Great shots. Thank you for your participation, the world needs to see the eradication of this disease in OUR lifetimes.

  11. Great photos and super great idea. Your group “DEARS” sounds like a good one. I agree with Vincent, we need to eradicate this disease soon.

  12. Mindy not only a bright idea but a very kind thing to do. Your group really made them feel special. I enjoyed watching the races with these brave and strong young women!

  13. What an inspiration, both the pics and the story! Well done!

  14. I like the way you think Mindy. πŸ™‚

  15. Such happy photographs in more ways than one. Wish I’d been there. Well done to everyone.

  16. Great photos and such a special thing to do. It’s amazing the courage of these who battle with the disease. An inspiration to everyone. Thanks for saying ‘Yes’ and recording such a great event.

Leave a Reply

