52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

19. Holiday Spirit

22 Comments

The holiday spirit has been a little hard for me to find this year… yesterday I may have finally found it!

I went to visit my daughter and her family to take their annual Christmas card photos. It was a beautiful day at an uncrowded beach in Florida. It didn’t take us long to figure out that our list of Pinterest ideas wouldn’t be necessary. Greyson, my almost two year old grandson, had his own ideas. We decided to just make it a lifestyle shoot… we followed around the little Mr. and tried to do whatever necessary to just get him to make eye contact with the camera. Both a smile and eye contact were rare this year! I don’t want to ruin the photo surprises to those on my daughters card list who might see this post. But, I am going to include my favorite from the day. Sorry Lis… 🙂

And thanks for getting me into the spirit. I watched the movie ‘Elf’ twice while I edited photos this morning. I have all my silly movie lines stuck in my head now… “I just like to smile, smiling is my favorite!” or “This place reminds me of Santa’s workshop, except it smells like mushrooms and everyone looks like they want to hurt me…” HAHA

Alissa Spice

 

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

22 thoughts on “19. Holiday Spirit

  1. Beautiful family photo and they are dressed perfectly – casual yet festive! And I know what you mean about the holidays. Stores start it way too early, and sometimes for no apparent reason, I get emotional – in a good or sad way. But this shot on one of our lovely beaches brings cheer today!

    • Thanks Diane… 🙂
      I’m glad that the photo brought you some Christmas cheer. The holiday season can certainly be filled with a lot of ups and downs… Next I’ll drag the tree out of the attic and light my 50% off balsam pine scented candle… if that doesn’t do the trick I can always watch ‘Elf’ again!

  2. Nice family portrait. The spirit will get you – when you least expect it.

  3. This is a beautiful shot of your beautiful family at a beautiful time of the year. I do, however, understand the effort it takes in getting into the spirit of the season here in beautiful Florida, when it is so different from all the traditional Christmas’ spent. I too am finding it hard to get in the spirit this year, but am hoping the “over” abundance of holiday decorations, inside and out, along with seeking out ways to help others less fortunate, and some eggnog meditation will move me along. Cheers to you Min 🙂

  4. Beautiful family shot! Get that tree decorated and sit in the dark with the lights on, a glass of wine listening to Christmas music and I bet the spirit will come over you. 🎄

  5. beautiful photo! Glad you’re finding your holiday cheer. =)

  6. Beautiful family, beautiful photos!

  7. walkin’ in a winter wonder…beach. snow, sand, it’s all good!

  8. Beautiful photo … its a nice change from the Pinterest ones (like I have done for my card!!!) Debbie put me onto Coast radio – all Christmas songs – I’m getting there gradually. Know what you mean though.

  9. Great photo! I love how they’re both looking at him.

  10. Mindy, it looks like you made the best of it. Great photo! Like I said to Sue K., when you are good at what you do, you know how to improvise and make do.

  11. Beautiful family photo. Well done.

  12. A great picture for Christmas memories — and so much fun to capture!

  13. Beautiful family photograph. Hope you are in the mood now! I am so behind with the blogs but I am enjoying taking the time to see them all now as a way to relax. Thank you.

  14. I love how their jeans are all at different lengths and the way Mom and Dad are looking at their son. Such a causally happy photo!

Leave a Reply

