52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

19. Horses and Humans

17 Comments

I was driving near the polo fields today when I noticed a couple riders in one of the practice fields. I really was hoping that if I waited long enough they would make their way a little bit, or actually a lot closer. That didn’t happen, but I was still happy to take a few minutes and just watch them. The photo really doesn’t do justice to the skills of the riders or how beautiful the horse were.

IMG_3668I did a little research when I got home and here are a couple facts I learned. Free flowing manes and tails are a danger in polo because they can become entangled with players’ mallets or with the reins as the rider tries to control the horse. Manes, therefore are shaved and the ponies’ tails are wrapped or braided to prevent the hazard.  Also, lefties are banned from polo. To understand why, consider this: you’re driving down the road when all of a sudden, coming straight at you, is a crazed English person (Patricia) driving on the left side of the road. The panic you’d feel in the situation is just what a right-handed polo player feels when he and a lefty approach the ball from opposite directions.

The polo season is just getting started here in Lakewood Ranch. To see this years schedule click here. It’s been several years since I have been to a match. If anyone is interested, I think we should get together a group and go sometime. It would be fun to pack a picnic and take our cameras out for a little practice. There are a lot of photo themes just waiting there for us: below the knees, panning, at a distance and of course horses and humans!

 

 

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

17 thoughts on “19. Horses and Humans

  1. The only times I’ve been there for polo, it’s been really hot. You had good weather. It’s a nice thing to do especially the tailgating!

  2. Thanks for the great information. I have never been to a polo match so add me to your list. Sounds like a great photo op. 🐎

  3. I’ve only been there one time so far. The Observer sponsors the last game of the season, so we all get to go watch. But, i would be up to an earlier outing.

  4. Nice photo – never been to a Polo match, so if you are starting a list, count me in!

  5. I’m jealous. Patricia and I went to a match a couple of years ago and it was a great day. Good going behind the scenes to the horse boxes – more themes – drops of water/someone working, the list goes on!!

  6. I’ve never watched a polo match. Sounds like some good photo ops.

  7. Gorgeous shots! I especially Love the fyi on the tail, mane, and most especially the no leftie rule. No polo for P…I’m sure she is relieved to know 🙂 I have visited those polo grounds several times and hope to again…in search of the perfect shot!

  8. Lovely horses. Sounds like a fun opportunity for a photoshoot. My daughter worked with polo ponies for a while. I remember her braiding the tails. Thanks for the background information too.

Leave a Reply

