52 Weeks Of Photo Challenges

A theme based photo blog

21. It Happens Over Time

24 Comments

Last fall when I visited Venice I loved to hear about the history of the city. It is sometimes referred to as the floating city because it was built by setting wood pilings on the 118 submerged islands in the Northern end of the Adriatic Sea. There are 400 foot bridges and 170 boat canals connecting the city.

Modern technology has proven what everyone has suspected for a very long time. The city is sinking…  Venice has battled rising water levels since the fifth century. But today, the water seems to be winning. Several factors, both natural and man-made, cause Venice to flood about 100 times a year — usually from October until late winter — a phenomenon called the acqua alta.

Venice Italy

o-VENICE-SINKING-900

Author: Mindy Towns

Hi, my name is Mindy Towns, I live in Lakewood Ranch, Florida. Along with several friends I have been participating in a weekly, theme based, photo blog since August 2012. Each year we receive a new list of 52 themes. We then post a photo each week that fits one of the themes along with a brief description about why we feel the photo fits the theme. Over the years I have learned a lot about my camera, new photography technics and also a lot about my fellow bloggers. I've peeked into their homes, met their families and traveled to exotic places through their photos. This year I am challenging myself further by trying to become even more creative in my posts. I found the cutest little Playmobil person complete with a camera and a little dog. She is going to be my little personal assistant over the coming months. I'm going to use many of the photo skills I have learned from participating in the photo challenge along with some new photoshop tools I have been practicing. I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I change things up a bit this year. Perhaps some of you will raid someones toy chest or toss something cute into your Target shopping cart and get a little silly with me. If you want to see examples of my grown up photography please visit one of my links listed on this blogs home page!

24 thoughts on “21. It Happens Over Time

  1. Such a beautiful city, St Marks Square was flooded when I was there a few years ago in October.

    • I’ve seen photos of St. Marks flooded. So glad that wasn’t our experience. It’s so beautiful there it’s hard to imagine that someday it may all be gone.

  2. A beautiful city that should be on everyone’s destination list.

  3. My daughter and her husband were just there. The square was flooded one day. She said it was interesting to see because the water came bubbling up thru the drains.

  4. Love Venice! Beautiful shot.

  5. I love your photo, Mindy! A friend and I ate dinner at the restaurant with the burgundy canvas roof next to the water. Venice is fascinating.

  6. aren’t the buildings a gorgeous color – lovely photo, so sharp.

  7. Such a great photo, thanks for sharing

  8. Definitely on my go to list!

  9. it is a fasinating place. i think everyone needs to see venice!

  10. St Marks was high and dry when I was there, however, I was swarmed by the pigeons. Of course feeding them didn’t help too much.

  11. and the Italians don’t seem to get too upset by this (it’s when their daughters start wearing lipstick that their temperatures rise)…

  12. Thanks for the information. It is a beautiful view.

  13. You should enjoy reading Inferno! Parts of that take place there…

Leave a Reply

